I have a black dog, his name is depression…

It’s taken me a long time to build up the courage to write this post but I thought it was now time to discuss my current situation and the issues I am having. First, I will share a video with you; it might make things a little easier to grasp:

Thursday 18th April 2016 – It was suspected that I was suffering from depression!
Tuesday 29th March 2016 – It was confirmed that I had clinical depression!

Some of you may be thinking, why has he put this in a blog and moreover why has he shared it via Facebook – the truth behind that is mental health has such a stigma attached to it and I want to share my experience with others and to help them talk about it! Also I want to be ’emotionally genuine’ with everyone. Some days I may not be myself but by you knowing about my black dog you might know why!

I am NOT doing this to get attention; that really is not what I am doing this for! I am doing this to help myself and I am doing it to encourage other young people who may be suffering from a mental health illness to speak out and get the help that they need!

Every day I feel that I am battling my mental health because there are large parts of our world that fail to see mental health illnesses as real; or other parts that believe depression is an attention seeking mechanism!

Here is another video:

Living with the black dog isn’t easy and I was hoping that I wouldn’t have to. But unfortunately this is something that I couldn’t have stopped happening to me! My dads death has had this effect but I am determined to fight it and not let the black dog rule me; I will eventually be able to put my dog on a lead and take the little shit for a walk! At the moment, I am struggling to fight it with therapy alone so I am on medication to help! I caught it early and hopefully that will help!

So thats it – I have built up the courage to tell you – my friends, my readers, my family – I have depression but I am dealing with it! You’re support is truly truly appreciated!

Ben

PS: Some thank you’s:

  • A massive thank you to my amazing girlfriend Emily, without whom the last 18months would have been completely unbearable! I love you dearly!
  • My wonderful mum, I know I haven’t been the easiest person to deal with at home for a while but you have been by my side throughout so thank you!
  • My amazing friends but to two gents who have been by my side throughout my battle: Barney and Jake – thank you for everything chaps, you’re support has been second to none!
  • Also a massive thank you to all of you that have read my blog from the start and also to those of you who have donated to my fundraising campaign – all being well I should jump on 30th May!
Leave a Reply

